Contact:          Sandra Alesich, President

Phone:          (601) 757-6216


     Mississippi Women for Agriculture Presents 2018 Scholarships

Mississippi Women for Agriculture recently awarded eight scholarships at their annual state conference to female students pursuing a degree in an agricultural field at a Mississippi university.

Mississippi Women for Agriculture Vice-President Sylvia Clark presided over the scholarship ceremony and explained that one of the core goals of the organization is to encourage young women to pursue a career in agriculture.

“We are able to achieve that goal by presenting scholarships each year,” Clark said. “As an organization, I know we take great pride in making a difference in the lives of these women by helping them through school.”

Raegan Ramage, of Oxford, and Callie Windham, of Noxapater, both received a Mississippi Women for Agriculture-Dianne Evans Memorial Scholarship. Dianne Evans was a founding member of Mississippi Women for Agriculture. A scholarship fund was formed in 2013 in Evans’ honor after she lost her battle with cancer.

Laura McCurdy-Anglin, of Pope, received the Cindy Hyde-Smith Woman of Agriculture Scholarship, which is named after Mississippi’s current and first female Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce.

Chloe Henson, of Rienzi, and Jenny Bibb Ryals, of Sumrall, were both awarded the Alma Cherry-Pam Steele Memorial Scholarship, which is named after two women who worked to improve Mississippi agriculture.

Vanesha Harris, of Beauregard, was awarded the Lucille “Diva” Davis Academic Scholarship sponsored by the Leading Ladies Society, Inc. of Natchez.

Dixie Priest, of Pontotoc, received the Rosier Financial Services Scholarship.

Alex Lowery, of Wesson, was awarded the Yazoo County Farm Bureau Scholarship.

Mississippi Women for Agriculture provides scholarships to students pursing a degree in an agriculture field each year. For more information about the organization, visit